We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Oh My Beautiful You

by Jim Byrne

Teach Me 02:53


'These are songs for settling down with, for listening to as they come, for listening to again... Something in the juxtaposition of mediums here made us think of the late, great David Bowie's song 'Sound and Vision', in which melancholic lyrics sit side by side with exuberant musical lines.' Zoe Strachan and Louise Welsh

'This inspired and inspiring collaborative project reminds us of the longstanding two-way traffic between music and the muse. What better duet can you get than the perfect harmony of songs and stories, lyrics and poetry, memory and melody?' Willy Maley - Scottish literary critic, writer, University of Glasgow Professor of Renaissance Studies

'Strong songwriting meets accessible, thought-provoking literary work. Hugely enjoyable!' Duncan McCrone - Singer Songwriter, Former Member Of The Clydesiders

'Refreshingly full of honesty in lyric and delivery and cuts to some truth about being human...' our job is just to listen well'. Like all good collaborations it weaves sensitively between artistic disciplines with imagination and re-invention, reminding us that it's stories that bind us.' Yvonne Lyon - Singer/songwriter


released October 10, 2020

Contributing Musicians

All vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, bass, keyboards and percussion by Jim Byrne except where indicated. All drums are by Lejoe Young.
Kurt Baumer: Fiddle on track 1.
Stephanie Brown: Contemplation on track 1.
Pat Byrne: Spoken word on track 4. Backing vocals on track 3 and 4.
Peter Byrne: Backing vocals (and vocal arrangement) on tracks 1, 2, 4, 7 and 9.
James Carson: Spoken word on track 2.
James Connarty: Thinking on track 9.
Samina Chaudry: Spoken word on track 6.
Tommy Detamore: Pedal Steel on track 11.
Elaine Fleming: Lead and backing vocals on tracks 5 and 12. Caroline Hussey: Accordion on track 9.
The Linties1: Backing vocals on track 2.
Graham Mackintosh: Banjo on track 6.
Gillian Margaret Mayes: Backing vocals on track 3.
Dinny Shuff: Backing vocals on tracks 1 and 11.
Pauline Lynch: Spoken word and acting up on track 7.
Calum Maclean: Spoken word on track 8.
Malcolm McDonald: Horns (and horn arrangement) on track 11.
Micheal Norton: Breathing on track 11.
David Rogers: Electric guitar on track 11.
Edward Roth: B3 Organ on track 4.
Robert Ruthven: Backing vocals on track 8.
Jess D Vernon: Backing vocals (and vocal arrangement) on track 6.
Stephen Watt: presence on track 10. Dougie Wilkinson: Bagpipes on track 5.
1 Iyaah Warren, Martin Stead, Morag Dempsey, Helen McBrien, Linda McVicar, Stuart Miller

Contributing Musicians

Recorded at The Cardboard Box Studios, Glasgow. Produced by Jim Byrne, mastered by Remi Salvador at Peerless Mastering.
Copyright Hillhead GWE Records 2017
Design by Pam McDonald


all rights reserved



Jim Byrne Glasgow, UK

Glasgow based Jim Byrne is an accomplished folk blues guitar player and songwriter. Jim is a recording artist with Fox Star Records.

He has released 4 critically acclaimed albums since going solo in 2008. ‘The Innocent’ and ‘Every Day is Sunshine’ where particularly well received by listeners and press alike (Q Magazine, UNCUT, Maverick, The Daily Record, Folk Blues and Beyond, Spiral Earth).
... more

contact / help

Contact Jim Byrne

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Jim Byrne, you may also like: